The Master

Mikhail Grigoryevich Vodyanoy

Mikhail Vodyanoy was born on 23 December 1924 in Kharkiv.  He studied for 3 years at Leningrad A. N. Ostrovsky Theatre University (now Russian State Institute of Performing Arts).

During 1943-1945 he worked at Pyatigorsk Theatre of Musical Comedy. In 1945 Mikhail Vodyanoy came to Lviv Theatre of Musical Comedy, which in 1953 moved to Odessa. Since then Mikhail Vodyanoy was an actor of Odessa Theatre of Musical Comedy.

In 1957 Mikhail Vodyanoy was awarded a title of Merited Artist of Ukraine. In 1964 he became a People's Artist of Ukraine, and in 1976 — People's Artist of USSR (the first people’s artist of operetta).

Mikhail Vodyanoy is one of our city’s key figures, the symbol of Odessa. Even Leonid Utyosov called him “Odessa’s envoy to Moscow”.

More than 40 years of his life Mikhail Vodyanoy spent at Odessa Theatre of Musical Comedy, where he played over 100 roles. The talented master created a variety of bright dramatic characters, won popularity and captured spectators’ hearts. His title of “The King of Operetta” was well-deserved.

Here are his roles which became classics of not only artist’s career, but also the whole musical theatre genre: Iashka the Tug (“White Acacia” by I. Dunayevsky), Mishka Yaponchik (“At Dawn” by O. Sandler), Alfred Doolittle (“My Fair Lady” by F. Loewe), Andrey (“Four of Zhanna Street” by O. Sandler),  Sancho Panza (“Man of La Mancha” by M. Leigh), Boni (“The Czardas Princess (Silva)” E. Kálmán), Agabo (“My Heart is Here” by G. Tsabadze), Tzar (“Russian Secret” by V. Dmitrieva), Tevye (“Fiddler on the Roof” by J. Bock).

Tremendously successful was Vodyanoy’s role of Popandopulo in the play and the film of the same name “Wedding in Malinovka”. The Third All-Union Film Festival declared this role to be the best comical one.

During his last years the artist played roles which proved his outstanding actor’s talent: Gusyatnikov (“Late Serenade”) and Tevye (“Fiddler on the Roof”). The last one was his swan song.

On 11 September 1987 Mikhail Vodyanoy passed away. He was buried at the Second Christian Cemetery.

Besides enormous actor’s labour, Mikhail Vodyanoy was also doing administrative and public work. For several years Mikhail Vodyanoy was the theatre’s chief executive and creative director, and did a lot to put up a new building for Odessa Theatre of Musical Comedy, which in 1995 was named after him.

The play “The Ball in Honour of The King” was casted in the memory of the Master.

  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master
  • The Master

Мастер

Михаил Григорьевич Водяной

Родился 23 декабря 1924 года в городе Харькове. Закончил три курса Ленинградского государственного театрального института им. А. Н. Островского (ныне Российский государственный институт сценических искусств).

В 1943–1945 годах работал в Пятигорском театре музыкальной комедии. В 1945 году М. Г. Водяной пришел во Львовский театр музыкальной комедии. В 1953 году Львовский театр переехал в Одессу и с этого времени Михаил Водяной — актер Одесского театра музыкальной комедии.

В 1957 году Михаилу Григорьевичу присвоено звание «Заслуженный артист Украины», в 1964 году — звание «Народный артист Украины», а  в 1976 году — звание «Народный артист СССР» (первый народный артист в жанре оперетты).

Михаил Водяной — это одна из легенд нашего города, символ Одессы. Недаром Л. Утесов назвал Водяного «полпредом Одессы в Москве».

Свыше 40 лет играл Михаил Водяной в Одесском театре музыкальной комедии, создал более 100 ролей. Талантливый мастер создал галерею ярких сценических образов, завоевал широкую популярность и любовь зрителей. Его по праву называли «королем оперетты».

Роли, ставшие классикой в творчестве актера да и, пожалуй, во всем жанре музыкального театра: Яшка Буксир («Белая акация» И. Дунаевского), Мишка Япончик («На рассвете» О. Сандлера), Альфред Дулитл («Моя прекрасная леди» Ф. Лоу), Андрей («Четверо с улицы Жанны» О. Сандлера), Санчо Пансо («Человек из Ламанчи» М. Ли), Бони («Королева Чардаша» И. Кальмана), Агабо («Сердце мое здесь» Г. Цабадзе), Царь («Русский секрет» В. Дмитриева), Тевье («Скрипач на крыше» Дж. Бока) и др. Громадный успех принесла М. Водяному роль Попандопуло в спектакле и в одноименном фильме «Свадьба в Малиновке». На III Всесоюзном кинофестивале эта роль была признана лучшей комедийной ролью.

В последние годы артист сыграл роли, подтвердившие его исключительные актерские возможности  Гусятников в спектакле «Поздняя серенада» и Тевье в мюзикле «Скрипач на крыше». Последняя роль стала его лебединой песней.

11 сентября 1987 года Михаил Григорьевич ушел из жизни. Он похоронен на 2-ом Христианском кладбище.

Помимо огромной актерской нагрузки Михаил Водяной занимался административной и общественной работой. Он несколько лет был директором и художественным руководителем театра, многое сделал для постройки нового здания Одесского театра музыкальной комедии, которому в 1995 году было присвоено имя Михаила Водяного.

Памяти мастера поставлен спектакль «Бал в честь короля».

  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер
  • Мастер